Congratulations to the following individuals and chapter who were presented major national awards at the AUSA Annual Meeting and Exhibition in Washington, DC on October 13, 2014:

Mrs. Carlene Joseph was the recipient of the Major General Anthony J. Drexel Biddle Medal, which is awarded to the individual who has contributed most significantly to the advancement and mission of the Association of the U.S. Army this year.  Mrs. Joseph has been President of the Captain Meriwether Lewis Chapter in 2009

Ms. Alecia R. Grady was the recipient of the Joseph P. Cribbins Medal.   This award is presented annually to a current or recently retired Department of the Army Civilian of any component in recognition of their exemplary service to the U.S. Army, significant contributions to AUSA and the local community.  Ms. Grady is currently the Chief of the Armed Forces Community Services at Joint Base Lewis-McChord, and has been an AUSA member since 1994.

Captain Meriwether Lewis Chapter was named as the Best Chapter of the 17 chapters with an AUSA assigned membership goal of 900 to 1500.


Congratulations to the following individuals who were presented major Sixth Region Awards at the Sixth Region Annual Meeting and Symposium on April 12, 2014 in Portland, OR:

General of the Armies John J. Pershing Distinguished Service Award
Colonel (Retired) George D. Lanning (Columbia River Chapter)

Major General John A Hemphill Award for Outstanding Ser vice to the Region
Major General (Retired) John T. Crowe (Central California Chapter)

Sergeant Major of the Army William G. Bainbridge Award for Excellence
Command Sergeant Major (Retired) Dennis R. Bowers (CPT Meriwether Lewis Chapter)

Sergeant Patrick Gass Award for Excellence
Sergeant Jacob R. Valderrama (CPT Meriwether Lewis Chapter)

Sixth Region Exceptional Civilian Service Award
Alecia R. Grady (CPT Meriwether Lewis Chapter)

Complete Listing of  2014 Region Awards Region Awards from Past Years